Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Paying out of pocket for new machine -- what Rx for most flexibility? - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Paying out of pocket for new machine -- what Rx for most flexibility? (/Thread-Paying-out-of-pocket-for-new-machine-what-Rx-for-most-flexibility)

Pages: 1 2

Paying out of pocket for new machine -- what Rx for most flexibility? - NotADr - 08-05-2017

Hello everyone -- I'm a complete newbie and am really looking forward to better sleep!  I have an appointment with my pulmonologist in a few days to discuss the results of my titration but I'm already sure that he will prescribe a cpap machine, and I haven't used one before.  I'll be paying for this out of pocket and skip the insurance hassles.  Thanks to this helpful forum I've already decided I want an apap -- and am looking at either the AirSense 10 AutoSet, the System One Auto or the Dreamstation Auto.  I'll buy it from one of the online vendors and not use a DME.

1)  Assuming the doc won't mind, what is the broadest way for him to write the Rx -- should I ask him to just prescribe an APAP along with the pressure settings and maybe an EPR setting?  Will the online vendors allow me to choose any apap?  I'm guessing they will but want to confirm.  The reason I don't want to select a specific model is that I might buy a second machine that is smaller and better suited for travel than the ones currently offered for sale if newer models with humidification are offered in the future, and I'd rather not return to the doc for a second Rx.