Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
[Symptoms] Waking up after 5-6 hours? - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: [Symptoms] Waking up after 5-6 hours? (/Thread-Symptoms-Waking-up-after-5-6-hours)

Waking up after 5-6 hours? - Ribman - 10-06-2012

I have been using a CPCP for the last two years. It now seems after 5-6 hours of sleep on the CPCP I awake and cannot return to sleep. So after an hour or two of reading I feel very tired and return to bed with the CPAP and cannot fall asleep and remain tired all day. Does using a CPAP reduce the # of hours of sleep due to increased oxygen? Any suggestions or comments?

RE: Waking up after 5-6 hours? - zonk - 10-06-2012

Hi Ribman, welcome to the forum
have you talked to your sleep doc about day time sleepiness
is your machine data capable (Elite or Autoset) shows efficacy data (AHI, leak) so you know if leak or apnea is a problem

first thing come to mind to ask if you feel congested bc for me when my nose feel congested cannot go back to sleep but if sleeping just over 6 hours at night wont feel sleepy during the day

RE: Waking up after 5-6 hours? - archangle - 10-06-2012

(10-06-2012, 01:46 AM)Ribman Wrote: I have been using a CPCP for the last two years. It now seems after 5-6 hours of sleep on the CPCP I awake and cannot return to sleep. So after an hour or two of reading I feel very tired and return to bed with the CPAP and cannot fall asleep and remain tired all day. Does using a CPAP reduce the # of hours of sleep due to increased oxygen? Any suggestions or comments?

Lots of us CPAPers seem to have that problem. I don't have a good answer, but you're not alone.