Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
AHI spike - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: AHI spike (/Thread-AHI-spike)

AHI spike - Carole Pruett - 11-02-2017

I have been using my bipap successfully for about 6 months with AHI below 5.  About September they started climbing and are now back to where I started in the 30 per hour.  I'm not aware of leakage, but I'm having to use more pills because I wake up so often.  My doctor doesn't understand what has happened and has no suggestions.  Do you have thoughts?

RE: AHI spike - chill - 11-02-2017

Welcome!

Is the increase due to obstructive or central apnea?  Which pills are you taking?  Some medications can increase central apnea.  

Have you changed sleeping position?  Diet?  Medication?  Stress?  Anything else that might affect sleep quality?

RE: AHI spike - Walla Walla - 11-02-2017

First Welcome to Apnea Board. Without any data to go by it's a total guess. But if I had to guess your getting CA events from the drugs and/or Bipap pressure support is too wide. The best thing you can do is download sleepyhead and post your charts here so members can give you solid input.

Follow the links just below and again Welcome.

Welcome

RE: AHI spike - DeepBreathing - 11-02-2017

G'day Carole. Welcome to Apnea Board.

Sleep apnea science is very much a numbers game. And many of us here are technical geeks of one kind or another - engineers, scientists, IT people (but no sleep doctors). So we will ask you for a lot of details and especially we will need to see the charts in order to give you some well-reasoned advice.