Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Tender teeth - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Tender teeth (/Thread-Tender-teeth)

Pages: 1 2

Tender teeth - Cpapian - 11-06-2017

Hi all,

I have been using APAP consistently for five months now.   Things have gone really well for me.  I slept the first night for ten hours and have never missed a night.  My first mask worked fine

I wear a dentist provided night guard on my lower  and have for 30+ years (not the same one). I grind my teeth and have TMJ

Since starting APAP I have noticed two things.  One - some mornings my upper teeth are very sore and tender.  The soreness is from inside the gums and down.   I feel the tenderness when I bite down on food.  The other thing I have noticed is the space between my upper teeth is ever so slightly greater.

They may or may not be related.

Does  anyone have thoughts or insight on this.  My next dentist appointment is not till January.

Thanks

RE: Tender teeth - srlevine1 - 11-07-2017

(11-06-2017, 10:15 PM)Cpapian Wrote: Does  anyone have thoughts or insight on this.  My next dentist appointment is not till January.

I would suggest that you bump up your dentist appointment as pain is not a normal condition and can be caused by a number of things -- some not so pleasant and better treated early rather than later. A few bite-wing x-rays may be appropriate.

As for gapping, etc., my dentist noticed a small realignment of my teeth over time and he attributes it to tight mask straps. I use a four-point headgear with the ResMed Mirage Activa LT mask and I keep it tight to minimize leaks over my beard.

Best of luck with the dentist and a good night's sleep.

RE: Tender teeth - Kryogen - 11-07-2017