Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
[Diagnosis] Mask types producing very confusing results - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: [Diagnosis] Mask types producing very confusing results (/Thread-Diagnosis-Mask-types-producing-very-confusing-results)

Mask types producing very confusing results - 23Tucson - 12-02-2017

Hello everyone and thank you for reading this post.  If you have any thoughts in response, they will be greatly valued.

I've been using CPAP for most of two years, having been diagnosed with obstructive apnea.  As cases go, it was relatively mild (around 5 events per night), but it profoundly affected the quality of my life - and my wife's.  Treatment with an AirSense 10, set at a constant pressure of 8, has left me feeling much improved.  Unitil recently, I used a Swift LT nasal pillow, which worked well, but created considerable discomfort with dry mouth.  I've tried everything I've read on this Board to remedy it, with minimal success.
My average monthly numbers using this mask were as follows:  AHI .28, Obstructive .14, Hypopnea .03, Clear Airway .11, C/S .00 with an average leak rate of 0.

In June, I switched to an Amara View mask to combat the dry mouth.  It took care of that problem and was extraordinarily comfortable to wear, but my quality of rest seems to have declined.  I didn't realize how much decline until I recently downloaded Sleepyhead and compared the two masks using the stats (as I struggle to understand them.)

Stats using the Amara View in September yielded the following:  AHI 1.72, Obstructive .31, Hypopnea .2, Clear Airway 1.21 C/S .00 with an average leak rate of 4.0, 7.2 at 90%, and .05 %time above.