Apnea Board Forum
ResMed AirCurve 10 Vauto Power Plug - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum (http://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: ResMed AirCurve 10 Vauto Power Plug (/Thread-ResMed-AirCurve-10-Vauto-Power-Plug)



ResMed AirCurve 10 Vauto Power Plug - mikeh99 - 01-12-2018

Does anyone know what size the power input connector is on the AirCurve 10?
Thanks.


RE: ResMed AirCurve 10 Vauto Power Plug - Walla Walla - 01-12-2018

I don't know the size but just order it for the AirCurve. You can't use anything but a ResMed plug anyway because it won't work.


RE: ResMed AirCurve 10 Vauto Power Plug - mikeh99 - 01-12-2018

My goal is to use a Respironic battery pack from my old machine. Respironic cpap uses 12v DC but my new ResMed AirCurve uses 24v dc. With a 12 to 24v step up converter I should be in business. The power plug is all I need to complete this mod. Is the ResMed plug proprietary? If not, what are the specs? Any info would be appreciated.


RE: ResMed AirCurve 10 Vauto Power Plug - bonjour - 01-12-2018

I purchased and used The DC Converter 24V 90W For AirStart™ 10, AirSense™ 10, and AirCurve™ 10 Machines by ResMed which connects the AirStart™ 10, AirSense™ 10, and AirCurve™ 10 to a 12V or 24V battery power source, including the battery used in a boat, car or recreational vehicle. The converter can be used to power the AirSense™ 10 and AirCurve™ 10 machine with built in HumidAir™ humidifier as well as a ClimateLineAir™ heated tube.

This will work with almost any 12 battery or power supply.  If your supply does not output to alligator clips or a cigarette lighter socket you will have to purchase an adapter.

Fred


RE: ResMed AirCurve 10 Vauto Power Plug - SarcasticDave94 - 01-13-2018

(01-12-2018, 08:30 PM)mikeh99 Wrote: My goal is to use a Respironic battery pack from my old machine. Respironic cpap uses 12v DC but my new ResMed AirCurve uses 24v dc. With a 12 to 24v step up converter I should be in business. The power plug is all I need to complete this mod. Is the ResMed plug proprietary? If not, what are the specs? Any info would be appreciated.

The ResMed requires a proprietary plug as there's a proprietary signal involved.


RE: ResMed AirCurve 10 Vauto Power Plug - CB91710 - 01-13-2018

(01-12-2018, 08:30 PM)mikeh99 Wrote: Is the ResMed plug proprietary? If not, what are the specs? Any info would be appreciated.
As mentioned above, it is a proprietary plug, it is actually a triaxial connector (very small pin in the center that is easily broken).
The connector is not available from electronic suppliers like Digi-Key/Newark/Mouser.

Every now and then, someone is able to get "this close" to making one work, but apparently the signal on the center pin is not easily reproducible... it's not just a matter of finding the correct resistance or voltage to fool the input.


RE: ResMed AirCurve 10 Vauto Power Plug - yrnkrn - 01-15-2018

For electronics DIY, this is a simple project. See
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-Proprietary-ResMed-A10-Power-Connector-Electrical-Details
and 
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-My-battery-backup-setup
circuit on page 18
I had built a working converter using a 3.3V regulator method which is resmed compatible while ve7ltd used the simpler 47K ohm resistor method which also worked.


RE: ResMed AirCurve 10 Vauto Power Plug - CB91710 - 01-15-2018

Good find.  
That is a more recent thread from the last time I looked into this.
Strange, I wonder what mis-wiring others had done because it seems that it is not a complex issue at all, with a simple resistor being the bare minimum and functional, of course, the 3.3v regulator being better.

BTW:  "Circuit on page 18" didn't work for me because I don't use the default posts per page.
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-My-battery-backup-setup?highlight=battery
For me, it is on Page 6, post #171 for the regulated circuit:

[Image: 2hxmwr9.jpg]