Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Airsense 10 problem with DreamWear Mask - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Airsense 10 problem with DreamWear Mask (/Thread-Airsense-10-problem-with-DreamWear-Mask)

Pages: 1 2

Airsense 10 problem with DreamWear Mask - kpanos - 03-15-2018

[attachment=4919]
I am rather new in CPAP treatment (less than a month) and I purchased the Resmed Airsense 10 Auto with a Resmed Swift FX nasal mask. I also started using the SleepyHead software to monitor the treatment. According to the software I had a very good AHI index (less than 3) and I already felt better.

Two weeks later, as I was not feeling so comfortable with the air tube under my nose, I decided to buy the Respironics DreamWear nasal mask which I believe is an ideal mask as regarding the feeling of freedom. BUT from the first day of using that mask, I had major problems that never had with the Swift FX. First of all, the Airsense 10 Auto, was no more able to sense that I was getting the mask off, stopping providing air, so I should always manually turn it off. Additionally, my AHI index reached very high levels (more than 10) and I felt not good again in my sleep. When checking the SleepyHead software, I found out that the Airsense 10 reported faulty OA and CA events, for periods I was not sleeping.

I do not know if anybody else had such problems, but as it seems the combination of Airsense 10 and the DreamWear mask is not working for me. I believe that Airsense can not realize if I am sleeping or not, to correctly adjust the pressure so it does not treat my apnea events as it should.