Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Noob question: Resmed AS10 trigger for myAir mask on/off score - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Noob question: Resmed AS10 trigger for myAir mask on/off score (/Thread-Noob-question-Resmed-AS10-trigger-for-myAir-mask-on-off-score)

Noob question: Resmed AS10 trigger for myAir mask on/off score - gregger - 04-10-2018

Hi all,

Total CPAP noob here...so I'm very appreciative of this site. I am the brand new user of a Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset and I downloaded the myAir app to track some very simple indicators. (I will download and dig into Sleepyhead in the future, but like myAir for some quick feedback.)

My first night I had a myAir score of 87 which I take as a good start (6.6 events/hour; my sleep test AHI was 42). 

My score showed "perfect" mask seal, despite the fact I did have some minor leaks when adjusting the mask.

But the score also showed 10 times the mask was off. It was actually only off my face completely a few times, but I did start/stop the machine several times when sitting up to fiddle with straps, try and then discard a chin strap, etc. etc. On a few occasions I pulled the nasal cushion an inch or so off my face to adjust it, but just for a couple of seconds.

So...The questions: Does the machine on/off get counted as a "mask off"? What else triggers a "mask off" indication?

Just curious. Thanks for any info. [Again, I do understand myAir's limitations and will become a Sleepyhead user soon!]

-- G.

RE: Noob question: Resmed AS10 trigger for myAir mask on/off score - Ron AKA - 04-10-2018