Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Camping with CPAP - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Camping with CPAP (/Thread-Camping-with-CPAP)

Pages: 1 2 3

Camping with CPAP - SuperSleeper - 02-27-2012

[parts of this thread were copied from our old forum]

Silellak Wrote:Hey all,

I've been using CPAP for over 3 months now, and I love it, but, of course, the inevitable has occured: I need to sleep somewhere that isn't my house. Specifically, my friends would like to go camping in a little under 2 weeks

Unfortunately, when it comes to things such as portable batteries, Volt/Watt/Amp usage, etc., I am pretty clueless, and so I've been scouring the internet trying to find the easiest solution. The one I want to try is as follows, but I honestly don't know if it will work - from what I've read, it seems about 50/50. Although I do have DC power as an option, attempting to find a DC cord for my RemStar sounds like quite the pain - at least if I want the "specific" one for my RemStar. I'd prefer something like a portable battery jump starter with a built-in AC/DC power inverter, but I just don't know if it would last for 2 nights of camping.

I have a RemStar Plus (http://remstarplus.respironics.com/) with the following power specs:

AC Power Consumption: 100 - 240 VAC, 50/60 Hz, 1.0 A max.
DC Power Consumption: 12 VDC, 3.0 A max.

I was thinking of picking up a DieHard Portable Power 1150 on the way home from Sears, and giving it a trial run at home to see how long it could run the CPAP when fully charged (not using the humidifier):

But I honestly don't know if either can power a CPAP for 2 "nights" (10-12 hours).