Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Suggestions for new settings - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Suggestions for new settings (/Thread-Suggestions-for-new-settings)

Pages: 1 2

Suggestions for new settings - Cliffh - 11-08-2018

Good day All,

I have been using Resmed CPAP equipment for the last 8 months with not much success.
What I have been using is the following:
Resmed S9 Autoset with Humidifier
Min Pressure settings 13cm H2O
Max Pressure settings 20cm H2O
EPR Level 3.0cm H2O constant
Full face Resmed Mirage Quattro mask
I have basically been trying to make the mask work for me but have had no success as there is just way too much leakage.
All results were very bad.

A week ago, I received a new nasal mask from Resmed. Model Swift FX
The leakage has basically dropped to zero, however I am struggling to breathe out when connected.
My logic tells me that the pressure settings are way too high for this new mask as I have not changed anything.

Can someone please suggest what I could start with in terms of pressure settings so as to aleviate the problem.

RE: Suggestions for new settings - Walla Walla - 11-08-2018

I would drop the minimum pressure down to 12cm for a start and see how that goes. Than continue to adjust the minimum as needed. Make sure you also set the mask setting on the machine for pillows.

RE: Suggestions for new settings - mesenteria - 11-08-2018

It might sound counterintuitive at first, but if you suspect one of the settings is too high, lowering it slowly until you find 'the zone' is the right way to go, not reducing pressures wholesale, say five or six cm of H2O immediately.  So, walla walla's advice is probably quite sound.