Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
[CPAP] New to CPAP - Where Do I Start? - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: [CPAP] New to CPAP - Where Do I Start? (/Thread-CPAP-New-to-CPAP-Where-Do-I-Start)

Pages: 1 2

New to CPAP - Where Do I Start? - USKiwi - 12-17-2012

I have been diagnosed with Sleep Apnea and need to use a CPAP machine. I am still waiting on the company to call me for the setting up of the machine etc. I am new to this and would like any advice you 'more experienced' people can give me. I have no idea what to expect with the company coming with the machine. Do I get a choice on what machine? If so what recommendations do you have. What about long distance travel. I have a trip which includes a 14 hour direct flight on Air New Zealand. Any tips? Thanks for reading.

RE: New to CPAP - Where Do I Start? - SuperSleeper - 12-17-2012

Hi USKiwi, welcome to Apnea Board!

One of our Master Members (Archangle) made this page on which machines to avoid and which are good ones:

http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php?title=Archangle:Machine_Choices

The answer is absolutely "yes"-- you do have a choice on the machine. Some people will try to tell you otherwise, but they are wrong. First, do your research on which machine you want, then get your doctor to write the prescription for that specific machine make and model.