Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Cleaning and maintenance - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Cleaning and maintenance (/Thread-Cleaning-and-maintenance)

Cleaning and maintenance - Fiddy - 02-28-2019

What are the guidelines on cleaning and maintenance? I am paying out of pocket so would like to stretch my dollar as far as possible since the masks are costing me 60$ a pop.

How long does the main "climate air" hose from the machine last? Does that need to be replaced every so often as well?

How do i know when i need to replace some or all the parts on the P10 nasal pillow mask?

Have been using the machine for about a week now and have not cleaned it yet.

RE: Cleaning and maintenance - Big Guy - 02-28-2019

I'm new to all of this myself, and have been using my CPAP for about 6 months now. I'm still using the original climateline hose that came with my ResMed AutoSense 10. I'm thinking it can easily go at least a couple of years with proper care / use.

I retired my original AirFit F20 cushion at 5 months, as it was beginning to show some signs of yellowing and it was becoming pretty flimsy. The mask itself is still in great shape and I can see an easy 12-18 months use out of it. The headgear is doing fine and still has it's elasticity. 

I have good insurance and it covers my equipment replacement well. I've already received replacements. As far as how long the equipment will last, ultimately depends on the user. I tend to keep everything clean as possible. My cushion and mask gets wiped down every morning with a Clorox anti-bacterial wipe. The hose, hose elbow, headgear, and lid to the reservoir, gets a good washing once a week.