Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Exp time vs. insp time - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Exp time vs. insp time (/Thread-Exp-time-vs-insp-time)

Pages: 1 2

Exp time vs. insp time - dizzny - 03-05-2019

Hello everyone, 

I have been using my cpap for about 8 months now. At times it feels like i'm having difficulty exhaling, which led me to look at other users charts specifically the insp and exp times posted here and compared them to mine. Almost all of my charts reveal that my insp time is higher than the exp time by at least .25-.5 each night. Everyone else I see has just the opposite with exp higher than insp time. I raised and lowered the pressure, but that doesn't have any affect. Is there something else that I could do? A recent typical chart result attached.

RE: Exp time vs. insp time - SnoringInOregon - 03-05-2019

I didn't know this was something I needed to be concerned about. Have you read somewhere that this is an issue?

My times generally match yours. E.g. most recent night from Sleepyhead for me:

Min Med 95%
Insp Time 0.80 2.44 3.00
Exp Time 0.54 1.54 2.14

RE: Exp time vs. insp time - Sleepster - 03-05-2019

I don't like the looks of your leak rate graph, dizzny. Have you tried a chin strap?

RE: Exp time vs. insp time - dizzny - 03-06-2019

(03-05-2019, 11:59 PM)Sleepster Wrote: I don't like the looks of your leak rate graph, dizzny. Have you tried a chin strap?

Yes, I tried using one or two, but it didn't seem to help much and was quite uncomfortable. I use mouth tape. Also, I've had issues with the straps on my mask causing headaches, so with the loosening of the straps comes more air leakage.

RE: Exp time vs. insp time - ajack - 03-06-2019