Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
New to CPAP [Battery Power Needs for Apap’s] - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: New to CPAP [Battery Power Needs for Apap’s] (/Thread-New-to-CPAP-Battery-Power-Needs-for-Apap%E2%80%99s)

New to CPAP [Battery Power Needs for Apap’s] - viviantheodosia - 08-19-2019

Hello all,

I'm new to CPAP, and trying to find a machine for off-grid living.  First, I tried the z2 auto, and based on what I can find on here (and the bluetooth connection to my phone reading it as a z1) it really is just the z1 in new packaging, failed after 3 weeks (while actually connected to the grid) in the middle of the night.  My sister has an old power hungry CPAP machine where the humidifier only sometimes works, that I used for about 10 days while visiting her and I learned that I do need humidification, not sure how much but pre-moistening with saline nasal spray is not enough. I also learned that the level of 10, even with ramp up feature is too much and will wake me, and that Oscar data reading is amazing.  So I am trying the AirMini auto with nasal pillows mask.  There isn't a lot of data available (I saw all the other resmed names worked with oscar and assumed this would too, bad me, not researched enough) with this one, but the nominal data says I woke up after 2 hours, I had a good mask seal (20/20), AHI at only 0.5 (most my events were in the wee hours during the sleep study so not a big surprise), and my pressure was 11.9 (based on the data available a useless number as it just means I was at or below this 95% of the night).