Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Resetting of blower hours? - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (http://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Resetting of blower hours? (/Thread-Resetting-of-blower-hours)

Pages: 1 2


Resetting of blower hours? - hearsay73 - 08-23-2019

So a few weeks back I went to my DME to have my respironics unit checked because it failed the "performance check". I was looking over his shoulder when he connected my machine to his laptop and ran a program (I forgot what it was called) to check the error codes of my machine and I could have sworn I saw that there was a option there to reset the blower hours. 

Has anybody else seen or verified this? I thought that the blower hours in cpap machines cannot be tampered with for obvious reasons (but apparently it is?).


RE: Resetting of blower hours? - OpalRose - 08-23-2019

You can find service manuals in the Private Files and Links Forum (Links to Member only Files.)  
You need to be logged in to your forum account to access.

Apparently, a DME or service center can reset not only user hours, but blower hours.  They aren’t supposed to do this unless replacing the blower, but who is to say they abide by that.  

An unscrupulous DME or service center could do this and sell as new.

An excerpt from the DS Service Manual:

6.3.3 CLEARING THERAPY HOURS AND BLOWER HOURS
• If the PCA is NOT replaced during device servicing, the therapy hours should only be cleared if the device is going to a different patient. Otherwise, the therapy hours should remain on the device.
• If the PCA is NOT replaced during device servicing, the blower hours should be cleared only if the Blower is replaced. Otherwise, the blower hours should remain on the device.


RE: Resetting of blower hours? - DeepBreathing - 08-23-2019

I had the motor replaced in my Resmed S9 and the blower hours went back to zero, so it's obviously possible.

Actually I was very impressed - it was in to have a faulty humidifier fixed and they replaced the motor without any request from me. The machine was about 4 years 10 months old at the time, with a five year warranty.


RE: Resetting of blower hours? - hearsay73 - 08-23-2019

Thank you OpalRose and DeepBreathing for your responses and confirming that this is indeed possible. 

I agree that an unscrupulous DME could definitely take advantage of this. Definitely, one thing to keep in mind that when buying a used CPAP.


RE: Resetting of blower hours? - Hydrangea - 08-24-2019

WOW!!!! I did not know this. I'm so grateful for all of the smart people here!


RE: Resetting of blower hours? - SarcasticDave94 - 08-24-2019

You mean there's an unscrupulous DME out there that might purposefully reset the hour meter? Dont-know

Yep, just like back in the old days of car salesmen rolling back odometers. Yes sir Mr. Jones this may be a 44 year old Pinto, but it's only got 5,000 miles on it. The numbers don't line up, you say? No actually older cars had odometers where those numbers didn't go straight across. It was really hard to make things straight in the 1970's.


RE: Resetting of blower hours? - Remember2Breathe - 01-28-2021

Where are the Blower Hours in Clinician menu for ResMed AirSense 10 Auto Set For Her? 

I only found where to find Run Hours in Manual.
Settings>About>Run Hours

Hope to get machine next week and want to go prepared.

Thanks!

Remember2Breathe


RE: Resetting of blower hours? - Sleeprider - 01-28-2021

Just go into the clinical menu, scroll to the bottom where the About menus is. Click and the Run Hours will be there. Not-resettable.


RE: Resetting of blower hours? - Remember2Breathe - 01-28-2021

OK.  Thanks, Sleeprider!

Sounds easier that ResMed just has un-resettable Run Hours (and no separate Blower Hours).

Remember2Breathe


RE: Resetting of blower hours? - Sleeprider - 01-29-2021

Resmed does have re-settable user hours, but run hours are like the odometer.