Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
[CPAP] New to CPAP and struggling - feels like my breathing gets "cut off" by the machine - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: [CPAP] New to CPAP and struggling - feels like my breathing gets "cut off" by the machine (/Thread-CPAP-New-to-CPAP-and-struggling-feels-like-my-breathing-gets-cut-off-by-the-machine)

Pages: 1 2

New to CPAP and struggling - feels like my breathing gets "cut off" by the machine - andrewb - 08-25-2020

Hi there,

I'm new to CPAP, I'm currently trialing a Philips DreamStation (the auto CPAP one), and I'm having a lot of trouble getting used to it.

The main issue that I'm having is that sometimes it feels like my breathing is getting "cut off" by the machine - sometimes when I'm breathing in but haven't quite finished inhaling, it drops the pressure, which leads to me suddenly feeling like I can't breathe properly, jolting me awake.

I believe my machine was initially on A-Flex level 3, I tried it with flex disabled (at the recommendation of the technician) which then caused the opposite problem - inhaling was now fine, but when I exhaled it felt like I got cut off before I was able to finish exhaling (or maybe it wasn't "cut off" so much as "just unable to breathe out all the way"), which similarly jolts me awake.

The technician didn't have any other ideas for what to try if that didn't help, my partner suggested I contact Philips to see if they have any recommendations, but I figured I'd try posting here first.