Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
[CPAP] New user having difficulties - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: [CPAP] New user having difficulties (/Thread-CPAP-New-user-having-difficulties)

New user having difficulties - jmac862 - 09-03-2020

[attachment=26204][attachment=26205]

A bit of possibly relevant background – I am a retired Clinical Engineering Manager and my areas of responsibility included ventilation and anaesthesia so I am/was (5 years ago!) acquainted with the technical aspects of the predecessors of these CPAP units. These last 5 years have seen a decline in the accuracy of the details but I’m still up with the concepts.
I was diagnosed (severe OSA) in February 2020 via one pre-assessment overnight home oximetry recording (ODI = 51.3, Median = 92.6, Epworth = 9). After much delay and virtual consultations, I have a Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset machine with humidifier and a Mirage FX mask
I am having a great deal of trouble adapting to the machine. I can tolerate it for >2 hours in daytime practice sessions, however, at night I frequently seem to lose my tolerance and succumb to long-standing claustrophobic anxiety and need to get the mask off me NOW. I’ve sat on the edge of the bed still wearing it doing my slow breathing anxiety remedy, but, when I lay down it re-emerges and off it goes. I have managed on two occasions to do one 6 hour and one 7 hour stint albeit with what I felt were numerous wakeful periods, so it’s possible but not often.