Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Central Apnea - ADHD - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Central Apnea - ADHD (/Thread-Central-Apnea-ADHD)

Pages: 1 2 3

Central Apnea - ADHD - Robotazky - 10-17-2021

Hi.  I joined because I am observing something that surprises me and wanted to ask if others have any experience.

I want to preface my first post by letting readers know that I am an engineer, highly analytical by nature, and generally fact-driven in my conclusions.

That said, I am 48 years old and been using a CPAP machine since 2015 for central apnea.  Recently I was diagnosed with terrible ADHD and started a stimulant medication as a result.

I do not know how or why, but the medication has changed something in my brain such that my horrible AHI scores that are always between 10-30, and now 2-10.

First question is whether anyone has any experience with this.

Second question is whether or not a Philips System One 60 CPAP is even the correct treatment for central apnea.  I don’t have a lot of confidence in my doctor, so wanted to ask here if this sounds like I’m even receiving the correct treatment.

Thanks in advance.  Central apnea sucks!

RE: Central Apnea - ADHD - Gideon - 10-17-2021

ASV is the correct machine to treat Central Apnea, somewhat conditioned by other cardiopulmonary and CNS issues.
Without question a CPAP (fixed pressure) is not the correct machine. Do note that ALL machines that treat Apnea are "CPAP" machines. This includes CPAP/APAP/BiLevel. It isn't until you get into the ventilator machines that the CPAP monitor is dropped.

Download OSCAR and post your chart so we can see what you actually have going on. You will love OSCAR with detail down to the breath by breath level.