Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Love My AHI Going Down But What About Time in Apnea and sleep quality? - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Love My AHI Going Down But What About Time in Apnea and sleep quality? (/Thread-Love-My-AHI-Going-Down-But-What-About-Time-in-Apnea-and-sleep-quality)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5

Love My AHI Going Down But What About Time in Apnea and sleep quality? - S. Manz - 11-14-2021

I started therapy with the Resmed 10 ASV back in mid July when I retired my Dreamstation Auto SV. At the time I wan't sure how it would affect my AHI because as you can see in the screenshot, my AHI started jumping up in July when I first started using the new machine.
However now after about 4 months of therapy, I'm just beginning to see a slow drop in my AHI over time, which is great but what about my "Total Time In Apnea" ?
This pesky measurement seems to be disappearing off the chart but every now and then it registers again. 
For me my total time in apnea matters because the greater the time I spend in apnea the lower my Oxygen saturation is likely to get and even though Time Spent has an almost direct relationship with AHI , sometimes the machine takes a longer time to breakup a Hypopnea event and therefore the AHI may stay the same as the night before, or even lower, yet Time Spent for that night may go up.
Anyway, I have included a summary graph with this post.
How is your therapy progressing over that last 6 months?
Are you sleeping better?
Do you generally feel better, less tired during the day?
I still get the urge to fall asleep towards late afternoons sometimes and even though it is a big improvement as compared to before therapy, it is still there to a degree.