Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Searching for best mask - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Searching for best mask (/Thread-Searching-for-best-mask)

Pages: 1 2

Searching for best mask - sailon1 - 12-31-2021

Hi, I'm a relative newbie on PAP, started nearly 3 months ago.

During hospital sleep study, I used a Respironics Amara View Full Face (hybrid) Large mask. I can't seem to get a consistent seal with this mask.

When I received my home DME after the test, I was a bit confused and selected the ResMed F20 AirFit Full Face mask. It sealed ok, but the bridge of my nose was very sore after just one night.

My DME supplier has a mask satisfaction guarantee and provided me with a ResMed F30 AirFit Medium (hybrid) mask. The F30 works best for me in maintaining seal. It's not perfect, but pretty good. It does give me some significant pain in the morning between my nostrils/above my lip. They do not offer a large size in the F30, just Small and Medium. I sometimes get leaks around my mouth which is typically slightly open during sleep.

I've ordered a chin strap. (I really DON'T look forward to yet a couple more straps around my head a night)... but it may help with keeping a more consistent seal around my mouth.

I'm still thinking there may be a better solution. Wondering about the ResMed F20 AirTouch memory foam mask. Does anyone with experience with it have an opinion vs the AirFit model that want's to bruise my nose? Or what about the full face Respirionics gel masks??? Note that I do run a fairly high pressure at 16 cm of water column.

Would appreciate any suggestions from those with experience. Can't quite afford to just buy them all and give them a test drive unfortunately.

Thanks!