Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Switch to nasal mask, and AHI increases - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Switch to nasal mask, and AHI increases (/Thread-Switch-to-nasal-mask-and-AHI-increases)

Pages: 1 2

Switch to nasal mask, and AHI increases - rhyman - 01-04-2022

I have been using the Resmed F30 and F30i interchangeably for about 6 months.  My numbers have been very good (AHI <1.0).  I wanted to try a mask that was a bit less cumbersome, so I have been trying a nasal mask, in conjunction with Somnifix mouth tape.  I tend to mouth breath throughout the night.

For the past 4 nights, I have been using the F&P Evora mask.  Very comfortable and allows be to breath in and out very easily.  But my AHI with this mask is between 2.0 and 4.0.  I know those numbers aren't that bad, but considering I was consistently below 1.0 with the hybrid masks, I am questioning why.

I also have the Dreamwear nasal and Resmet N30i masks.  I would like to try those with mouth taping, but those don't seem to give my enough air on intake. Feels like I would suffocate.  Finally, I do have the Dreamwear pillows, which seems to give me really good airflow, just like the Evora or F30.  

my questions:

1) why would my AHI increase with the switch to nasal?
2) why would the Resmed F30 give me good airflow, but the N30i doesn't?

Thanks for any help.

RE: Switch to nasal mask, and AHI increases - staceyburke - 01-04-2022

We need data to give anything but guesses. Please post OSCAR charts and I’m sure we will be able to give you some advice.

RE: Switch to nasal mask, and AHI increases - Melman - 01-04-2022