Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
(Dreamstation) Flex algorithm is out of sync with my breathing - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: (Dreamstation) Flex algorithm is out of sync with my breathing (/Thread-Dreamstation-Flex-algorithm-is-out-of-sync-with-my-breathing)

Pages: 1 2

(Dreamstation) Flex algorithm is out of sync with my breathing - skim - 02-26-2022

Hi, CPAP newbie here after my first couple nights. Hoping some CPAP algorithm experts can help me out here.

The Dreamstation 1 with flex setting they said would adjust to my inhale/exhale, so I don't have to fight against pressure so much. The thing is the way I breathe doesn't jive with the algorithm. Usually, my sleep onset delay is like 3 minutes (confirmed in sleep study and all my at home apps), I do some really slow deep breaths and am off to sleep right away, probably because I'm so sleep deprived.

With this damn machine I spend hours being jolted awake right when I'm about to fall asleep because the machine keeps forcing air in when it thinks I should inhale, but I'm just pausing after exhale. Sometimes I find myself breathing out against full resistance. The algorithm has its own opinions about how I should be breathing, and if I follow that I feel very little resistance, but feel like I'm hyperventilating, and "rushing" my breath because I feel like any delay and I'm going to get jolted again. Not a good place psychologically to fall asleep.

Basically, I want the algorithm to increase pressure when it senses an inhale, not preemptively, because that tends to be a couple seconds too early for me and it keeps waking me up. Is there a setting I can change for this, or should I ask for a different model?

Thanks all.