Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
[Pressure] Events vs Pressure - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: [Pressure] Events vs Pressure (/Thread-Pressure-Events-vs-Pressure)

Events vs Pressure - Doogmeister - 06-07-2022

Hi folks.  I'm new to al of this and still trying to understand how to interpret my data.  Per the attached pic, I've highlighted to events close together where I clearly experienced an obstructive event of 15 seconds but the machine appears not to have responded at all.  The pressure seems basically flatlined through the events.  What gives?

RE: Events vs Pressure - Dog Slobber - 06-07-2022

ResMeds (and other brands) respond to more than just Apneas. They respond to Flow Limitations (FLs), Snores and Apneas. IMO, FLs are probably the largest indicator of a need to respond, and Apnea's are often not responded to, during an even but after an event.

In the picture you presented you see the pressure actually increasing before the device has actually determined an Obstructive Apnea(OA) occurred. It was likely responding to FLs. In the second event, one again it started the presure increase prior to determining an OA occured, but still increased it after.

I don't see anything strange about how your device responded.

RE: Events vs Pressure - Doogmeister - 06-09-2022

(06-07-2022, 09:38 AM)Dog Slobber Wrote: ResMeds (and other brands) respond to more than just Apneas. They respond to Flow Limitations (FLs), Snores and Apneas. IMO, FLs are probably the largest indicator of a need to respond, and Apnea's are often not responded to, during an even but after an event.