Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Over 8 AHI for years. How bad is it? - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Over 8 AHI for years. How bad is it? (/Thread-Over-8-AHI-for-years-How-bad-is-it)

Over 8 AHI for years. How bad is it? - jakeroviks - 07-21-2022

I've been using CPAP since 2019. Since then, my AHI has been all over the place, but is on average around 8 recently. Lowest was when I first started, around 5. It has been as high as 40+, even with the machine. 

I want to try and get this to a lower number as I can feel my sleep is suffering. I have a few questions:

1) How low should my AHI be with CPAP? 

2) How would a consistent AHI of 8+ affect someone over the years?

3) If it's bad and fixable, how do I fix it?

P.S. Here's some OSCAR logs to help.

RE: Over 8 AHI for years. How bad is it? - Psychotech - 07-21-2022

would suggest to increase min preasure to 8-9, turn flex to 2 and increase ramp pressure to 6 or turn ramp off

RE: Over 8 AHI for years. How bad is it? - jakeroviks - 07-22-2022

Thanks, I'll try that. 

I haven't used flex before. Is it similar to bipap? I had really bad results with bipap (40+ AHI, mostly central apneaas) that made me switch away from it.

RE: Over 8 AHI for years. How bad is it? - mesenteria - 07-22-2022

The industry and medical field standard is less than 5 events detectable per hour of sleep/rest.   Most of us, not all of us by any means, but most of us manage to get ourselves to under 2.5 or so, and of those, at least half are routinely between 0.5 and 1.5 events per hour.  Your rate is too high for comfort.  Respiratory therapists would work with you to get the rate under 5 events.  Your sleep physician would not be happy with your current treatment.