Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
[CPAP] Newbie - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: [CPAP] Newbie (/Thread-CPAP-Newbie)

Pages: 1 2

Newbie - Doelie - 11-06-2013

Hi, I'm still new with CPAP, only paid the big amount today after the trial. I have one question: if you guys wake up at night and can't sleep, is it better to leave the masks on or off? I tend to take mine of as it starts to annoy me and then off course falls asleep later without it... any suggestions?Thinking-about[/font]

RE: Newbie - DeepBreathing - 11-06-2013

(11-06-2013, 05:19 AM)Doelie Wrote: Hi, I'm still new with CPAP, only paid the big amount today after the trial. I have one question: if you guys wake up at night and can't sleep, is it better to leave the masks on or off? I tend to take mine of as it starts to annoy me and then off course falls asleep later without it... any suggestions?Thinking-about[/font]

G'day Doelie, welcome to the club.

Taking the mask off seems to affect most people at first. It is something that gets better with time, as your body gets used to this new way of breathing.

I think it's better to put it back on straight away - a bit like getting back on the horse. Just make sure that it's fitting well with no leaks and the straps are comfortable. Also, being in Toowoomba you probably need to keep an eye on the humidifier settings to make sure you're not getting "rainout" (drops of water coming through the mask) which can be really annoying.

Good luck and happy dreams.

RE: Newbie - boar - 11-06-2013

I tend to wake up like at 6am for some reason. Usually, when i see daylight, i take the mask off and roll back to bed but if I cant see daylight then I will try to keep it on and try to go back to sleep.