Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Four days into cpap and can't sleep. - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Four days into cpap and can't sleep. (/Thread-Four-days-into-cpap-and-can-t-sleep)

Pages: 1 2

Four days into cpap and can't sleep. - Highroller - 09-21-2014

So I'm new to cpap, recently got diagnosed with OSA. My problem is that I feel tired and ready for sleep but when I throw on the mask and get the cpap going I can't fall asleep. I will lay there all night half awake, even if I'm exhausted. I know some people take longer than others to adjust, however I feel that I should be sleeping if I'm exhausted. Any suggestions as I'm new to this?
Pressure 8cm
Respironics, no c flex option
Nasal mask

RE: Four days into cpap and can't sleep. - zonk - 09-21-2014

(09-21-2014, 07:44 PM)Highroller Wrote: Any suggestions as I'm new to this?
Pressure 8cm
Respironics, no c flex option
Nasal mask
Maybe this wiki might helps
http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php?title=Tips_for_new_CPAP_users

Welcome

RE: Four days into cpap and can't sleep. - Evpraxia - 09-21-2014

Hello HighRoller,

The link to Wiki is a great idea.

My hubby and I both have SA (Sleep Apnea), he has been using a CPAP since 2003 and got a new machine (Hurray!) about 4 weeks ago. I just got my new machine on Saturday.

After our sleep studies, the Resp. Tech/Sleep Study person reminded us that if we felt we wanted/needed a different mask or hose we could call and set up a daytime appt to try out different masks and hoses at no charge. Then, depending on what the Doc would agree to, the insurance might cover the different equipment prior to the usual replacement schedule.

You came to the best place to ask questions - glad you keep on trying!