Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Machine stops pushing air during inhalation cycle - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Machine stops pushing air during inhalation cycle (/Thread-Machine-stops-pushing-air-during-inhalation-cycle)

Machine stops pushing air during inhalation cycle - novatom - 01-29-2015

I'm still learning all the lingo and terms so bear with me as I try to explain this.

When I start using my CPAP for the evening, I'm quickly able to adjust/sync my breathing rate with the machine's (or the machine to mine, as it were). At the end of my exhalation cycle, the machine begins to blow air through my mask. However, I have noticed recently that it stops blowing air about 2/3 - 3/4 of the way through my inhalation cycle. In other words, as I'm inhaling, the air stops blowing before I have stopped inhaling.

Is this a function of the pressure setting? My setting is set at 6 by the sleep clinic, and in my first follow up (I've been on CPAP for approx. 4 weeks now), the doctor decided to keep my pressure at 6 for the next two months until my next follow up in March.

This is not really a big issue, it's not like it's keeping me awake (not yet), but I'm just wondering if there's a better way to ensure that the air continues to blow throughout the period that I am inhaling.

If the machine can sense my inhalation/exhalation cycles, then it should be able to sense the entire time I'm inhaling, correct?

RE: Machine stops pushing air during inhalation cycle - quiescence at last - 01-29-2015

I believe this is part of the C-Flex function to create an environment of easing pressure as you begin the exhale. It draws conclusions based on your past flow, most recent breaths, not only the current breath.