Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Upgrade procedure for ResSan - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (http://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Upgrade procedure for ResSan (/Thread-Upgrade-procedure-for-ResSan)



Upgrade procedure for ResSan - justMongo - 02-20-2015

In going from RS 5.1 to 5.3, should one:
a) Remove 5.1 then install.
b) Just install over 5.1

It's more of a Windows question. As many of you know Windows has is idiosyncrasies.


RE: Upgrade procedure for ResSan - player - 02-20-2015

Not sure about this software, but 99.9% of programs you just upgrade without deleting the old copy. If it needs to be deleted the upgrade will normally take care of it. If a manual removal is required I would think they would make that clear.


RE: Upgrade procedure for ResSan - retired_guy - 02-20-2015

When I did that I just installed the new version without worrying about the old version.


RE: Upgrade procedure for ResSan - justMongo - 02-20-2015

addenda: Yesterday, RS 5.1 hung for some reason. I could not kill the process.
I ended up holding the power button for 4 seconds to force a power down.
When I restarted, my RAID array (RAID 1 mirror) did a verify and repair.
It takes 2 hours; and the machine is nearly unusable during the process.
It found and repaired 10 errors.

Perhaps, I should turn off all disk write caching?

My system:
Dell 8700 with i7 core 4770 @ 3.4 GHz
Intel Z87 chipset
24 GB DDR3 1600 MHz RAM with latency 11.
EVGA GT 750 Ti superclocked GPU.
2, WD Black 1 TB HDDs in RAID 1 mirror
460 Watt OEM PSU.
Windows 7, 64bit Pro.
IRST version 12.0.2.1001


RE: Upgrade procedure for ResSan - player - 02-20-2015

(02-20-2015, 12:56 PM)justMongo Wrote: addenda: Yesterday, RS 5.1 hung for some reason. I could not kill the process.
I ended up holding the power button for 4 seconds to force a power down.
When I restarted, my RAID array (RAID 1 mirror) did a verify and repair.
It takes 2 hours; and the machine is nearly unusable during the process.
It found and repaired 10 errors.


If you right click on the bottom task bar and open "Task Manager", then go to applications, highlight the program that is hung, then "end task", you should be able to stop it that way without shutting down.



RE: Upgrade procedure for ResSan - justMongo - 02-21-2015

(02-20-2015, 09:17 PM)player Wrote: If you right click on the bottom task bar and open "Task Manager", then go to applications, highlight the program that is hung, then "end task", you should be able to stop it that way without shutting down.

Tried that. It was like a zombie that could not be killed.

This morning MSIE 11 stopped working. A little Google fu using FireFox show that others had the same issue caused by Norton.
An update from Norton fixed their problem.


RE: Upgrade procedure for ResSan - Crimson Nape - 02-21-2015

(02-21-2015, 11:07 AM)justMongo Wrote: This morning MSIE 11 stopped working. A little Google fu using FireFox show that others had the same issue caused by Norton.
An update from Norton fixed their problem.

I had the same problem with Norton. It caused headaches for other programs as well. I finally removed and got something else, now I don't have any problems.


RE: Upgrade procedure for ResSan - retired_guy - 02-21-2015

(02-21-2015, 11:44 AM)sgearhart Wrote: I had the same problem with Norton. It caused headaches for other programs as well. I finally removed and got something else, now I don't have any problems.

Now that's some great news! To get rid of my problems all I have to do is remove Norton? That's great........... Now, if I can just figure out where Mrs. R_G is keeping him.



RE: Upgrade procedure for ResSan - justMongo - 02-22-2015

(02-21-2015, 12:30 PM)retired_guy Wrote:
(02-21-2015, 11:44 AM)sgearhart Wrote: I had the same problem with Norton. It caused headaches for other programs as well. I finally removed and got something else, now I don't have any problems.

Now that's some great news! To get rid of my problems all I have to do is remove Norton? That's great........... Now, if I can just figure out where Mrs. R_G is keeping him.

He's with Jackie Gleason (aka: Ralph Kramden.)
Art Carney played his neighbor, Ed Norton.