Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Lost weight - CPAP limbo - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Lost weight - CPAP limbo (/Thread-Lost-weight-CPAP-limbo)

Lost weight - CPAP limbo - Zzzmeg - 04-03-2015

Hi there,
I'm new to this thread and have a question.
I recently lost 60 lbs and used to use a CPAP at 14 pressure. After I lost the weight I turned it down to 6 as my machine said I was only having 0.4 AHI a night so I thought this was a good setting. Well, I have been feeling exhausted and noticed as I was falling asleep it was almost like I "forgot" to breathe (not the normal choking sound I used to have when I was heavier). When I have had my pressure too high in the past it was causing me to have central apneas. I think this may be happening again. I can't get into another sleep study until September because in Canada it is only covered every 2 years. I tried sleeping without the CPAP and still woke up with a dry, sore throat and exhausted. I also tried sleeping with the CPAP on the lowest pressure at 4 and again woke up exhausted but without the dry, sore throat. I'm thinking even the lowest setting is too high but no CPAP isn't working either! I am going to try sleeping upright tonight in a lazy boy with a chin strap on to see if that helps. I have tried the mouth guard that holds your bottom jaw forward but couldn't sleep. I guess my question is, has anyone else had this experience where the lowest setting is too high yet no CPAP isn't working either? I guess I'm just at the perfect weight that puts me in CPAP/no CPAP limbo! Feeling exhausted and frustrated! Any help or experiences with this would be helpful. Thanks in advance!

RE: Lost weight - CPAP limbo - archangle - 04-03-2015