Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea
Newbie with Questions! LOTS OF QUESTIONS! - Printable Version

+- Apnea Board Forum - CPAP | Sleep Apnea (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Public Area (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Public-Area)
+--- Forum: Main Apnea Board Forum (https://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Main-Apnea-Board-Forum)
+--- Thread: Newbie with Questions! LOTS OF QUESTIONS! (/Thread-Newbie-with-Questions-LOTS-OF-QUESTIONS)

Pages: 1 2

Newbie with Questions! LOTS OF QUESTIONS! - sleepyandsad - 04-12-2015

Hi there - I'm new to CPAP and this forum. I'm on my 3rd night with the AirSense 10 CPAP and I've just downloaded the sleepyhead software. I have no idea how to use it bc the provider that supplied my CPAP machine only showed me the data card and said I was to mail to them 1x a month? I had no idea that I could actually monitor myself. Is that normal? Furthermore it says my machine can transmit wirelessly and has cellular bars. Any idea how I can set that up? So the past 3 nights I've had "Events per hour" around 3. Since my original sleep study showed just 9 events per hour, I'm assuming I'm not doing so well. My pressure goes up to anywhere between 10-14 per my sleep info on the machine in the am and I've adjusted my starting pressure up from 4 to 6.2. I am a slim 45 year old mom of 2 with hypertension that is becoming harder and harder to control through medication. My dystolic number in particular so my dr. recommended that I treat the Apnea - on medication, my blood pressure ranges from 120-140 on top but typically in the 120's (not bad) and bottom 80-100 but typically in the low 90's (this is the number I want to get down) - Although my sleep study showed just 9 apneas per hour, I'm sure they are Very hard on me cardiac wise because I wake up over and over GASPING for air. Anyone with a similar story and success???

RE: Newbie with Questions! LOTS OF QUESTIONS! - sleepyandsad - 04-12-2015