Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Alcohol
Alcohol
Does no one here drink or is it a skirted around, subject avoided? My very first post was worded like an AA intro on purpose.

None of my friends would call me an alcoholic but my GP does. Any more than four a day you are DOOMED!!!

In the real world, before I did my sleep test, I programmed two booze-free days, Tuesdays and Thursdays, and that has been surprisingly easy. Trouble is that on Wednesdays and football nights on TV I catch up on what I missed out on those days.

I do need to get straight but when chronic fatigue and insomnia are your perennial friends, those couple of hours of anaesthetic are invaluable.

Am I alone?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Alcohol
Probably you are not alone, mate, but speaking as a physician, I agree with your doc, and you DO need to kick the habit. Given the high levels of alcohol in Aussie beer (compared to American beer, which is like making love in a canoe) you are absorbing way too much, and limiting yourself to half a glass per day would be a good first step. Besides the depressive effects of alcohol on your system (and night time respiration) and ignoring what it is doing to your liver (which is starting to really hate you and plan revenge - while it is the most amazing and wonderful organ, it can only take so much), the amount sugar you are absorbing is enormous and is a nice sized factor in weight gain (which in turn is a factor in obstructive sleep apnoea) and eventual diabetes.