Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Long term effects of CPAP therapy
Long term effects of CPAP therapy
My sleep study documented an AHI = 32, which is in the severe apnea range; however, many of those must have been hypopneas rather than apneas because my wife says I rarely snored, except on weekends when I generally enjoy alcoholic beverages.

Now she says as soon as I fall asleep without a mask, I snore. So, if it falls off or switches off at night she wakes me up immediately to put it back on. I don't know if she was just conditioned to it, and now that I've been using CPAP for 4 months and thus am as "quiet as a mouse" she just now notices it immediately when I snore. Or, is it possible that CPAP therapy is changing the tissues and/or muscles in my nasal cavity and throat to perform even worse without the therapy than they were before I ever started?

I'm concerned about this because I'm currently on a path to lose a significant amount of weight, and I'm hoping after I lose the weight that therapy will no longer be necessary. So, I don't want to permanently change my respiratory system such that I will always be reliant on therapy. I know that you don't have to be overweight to have sleep apnea, but it is a risk factor. And when I leaner in my younger days, I never even snored.

Has anyone else ever been concerned about this, or have a personal account to share?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Long term effects of CPAP therapy
It's more like that you are sleeping on your back more often. I also don't discount the fact that now that your wife is used to the silence, she awakens with the snores. I find the same thing after several years of listening to my late Dad's oxygen concentrator.