Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Symptoms] Sleep Study Results
Sleep Study Results
I am totally new to understanding any of this. I am posting because I don't know how concerned I should be about what I have been told after a sleep study. My wife has always told me I "stop" breathing at night. I have a lot of symptoms that are typically associated with low oxygen levels - shortness of breath, fatigue, memory issues, etc. I My doctor said I should do a sleep study to see if apnea might be the root of my problems. I was called with my results which alarmed me but I don't know if I should be alarmed. I was told that I stopped breathing 267 times during an approximately seven hour sleep session. My oxygen level (which I was told drops during sleep but should remain above 92%) dropped to 65% while I was sleeping. I've been researching on the internet and now I'm concerned because that number seems dangerously low. Am I in danger of something serious happening to me?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Sleep Study Results
Welcome to the forum,

Anyone with Sleep Apnea has a health issue that needs to be treated seriously. Your can would be considered Your numbers amount to a AHI (Apnea index) of around 38 per hour, which would qualify as severe. You Oxygen level of 65% would also be considered severe.

The good news is that depending on the causes it is very treatable. I think the best person to talk to about this is your Sleep Doctor. Be open, ask questions and understand what they say before you leave and leave with a plan on how they are going to work with you to treat this.