Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] CPAP Machine Issues
CPAP Machine Issues
I have been using a CPAP machine for the past 8 years. My SA is pretty severe, my auto pressure settings are set from 13-20 and average pressure is just under 14. So I have been using my CPAP for a long time and know without it I can barely function.

Around the end of May I suddenly had issues using my CPAP. I had a hard time figuring out what the issue was, but all of a sudden it just felt uncomfortable and like I couldn't breathe with it on. It seemed like the pressure adjustments when I breathed in and out were off. Like when I would exhale I would have high resistance and then it would drop way off. Similar on inhale, the pressure would be way too low and then it would adjust to the correct pressure. This made it so annoying to try and sleep I couldn't use it.

I made an appointment with a tech at the place I had my sleep study. All he did was check to make sure that the pressure was correct. I explained to him that I thought the EMR function wasn't working correctly, but he just made me make an appointment with a Dr. It took a few weeks and the PA basically said I needed to do another sleep study and that I probably needed to BIPAP machine. She said my AHI was just over 6. Again I tried to explain that I thought something was wrong with my CPAP but she wouldn't address it. She started the paperwork for another sleep study. In the meantime I am feeling the full effects now, soooo tired during the day, falling alseep at work, headaches in the morning etc. etc. and just all around feeling terrible.