Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Is apnea secondary to heart problems.
Is apnea secondary to heart problems.
Hello, I am new to the site. I am a Vietnam vet. disabled with ischemic heart disease, stent and just recently was given a MET-5 heart rating, My cardiologist ordered a sleep study and now I am on a BiPAP. I need some information relating to my heart problems causing my sleep apnea. Can apnea be secondary to heart failure?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Is apnea secondary to heart problems.
If your heart doesn't beat effectively, blood with oxygen doesn't circulate. That would probably trigger heavier breaths via the body's feedback loops. It might even wake you up if severe enough. Logically, if that happened often enough, you'd feel like crap during the day.

Note: I'm an epidemiologist, not a medical provider. 
Post Reply Post Reply
Ed, welcome to the forum. Yes. Congestive heart failure produces an easily recognized pattern of periodic breathing and apnea known as Cheyne Stokes Respiration. For some examples of that see this thread http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...ead?page=2

For some years, it was thought that leveling out the periodic breathing and apnea from this condition was benefcial, and the use of adaptive servo ventilation was the gold standard to accomplish that. ASV provides breath by breath pressure support to resolve central apnea and hypopnea. Recently, ASV was found to be contraindicated for CHF when the left ventricular ejection factor (LVEF) is less than 45%. http://www.aasmnet.org/articles.aspx?id=5562 As a result of this recommendation, bilevel therapy without ASV, or CPAP has become the recommended therapy. Supplemental nocturnal oxygen is often needed since the Cheyne-Stokes respiration is usually not well controlled by CPAP.