Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Snoring
Snoring
I have been using an APAP since Dec 2016,

Originally diagnosed as serious with an AHI 64,

My question is with regards to the snoring index, the dream machine, indicates I am snoring all night, yet when I record my night noises, I hear no snoring.

What might be triggering the unit?

Any suggestions re treatment most welcome. TIA.

Ooops!  seems I cannot post my screen shots as I am still in diapers and suckling!

... Philip
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Snoring
Is your mask leaking at all?  When I was using a full-face mask (F&P Simplus) the DreamStation would often detect "face fart" type leaks as snoring.  I mentioned it to my sleep tech and she was familiar with the situation.  If that is the case, a different mask or adjusting that mask differently  to avoid the leaks should result in more accurate reporting.  Is the machine raising pressure in response to this detected snoring?
Post Reply Post Reply
I'm betting that you're looking at the VS2 events on Sleepyhead.  If that's the case, I get the same indicators and I know that I'm not snoring.  I've read on this forum that that VS2 in not accurate and it was suggested to turn VS2 off in the events chart.  Another interesting thing I noticed was that when I was using the Respironics System One, I never showed snoring in VS2.  As soon as I changed to the Dream Station, I show several VS2 events every night.  And as I said, I'm not snoring since being on APAP.
Post Reply Post Reply
Thanks, I will post my screen shot as soon as I am allowed

...  Philip
Post Reply Post Reply
With regards to mask farting and leaking, I have a full face beard (medical reasons), so the farting is not an issue, leaking is inherent. and always has been