Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Addressing Mask Leaks
RE: Addressing Mask Leaks
Hi,

A newbie here. I tried and failed miserably with a full face mask, but had great luck with a nasal pillow.

I am a mouth breather, so I thought I needed a full face mask, but had massive problems with leakage. Then I read that breathing through your nose is healthier, so I decided to try out a nasal pillow. I got the P10 (can get it for <$70) and it's worked wonders. To keep my mouth shut, I use a chin strap (carefusion) + skin tape. Now, I never have problems with leaks.

I'm hoping I can train myself to keep my mouth/lips closed without a chin strap+tape, but for now they work pretty well.
Post Reply Post Reply
I am not a Philips guru by any stretch but Sleepyhead says that your EPAP/IPAP is set for 15/21 however the data shows that the IPAP is 21 all night long and the EPAP varies a little around 17.5 for the night. If it is truly fixed bilevel, that is fine.

Does the Philips machine you have, have a mask fit setting. My Resmed does and it makes adjusting way easier. With my Resmed you just activate the mask fit feature and the machine goes up to the highest set pressure and stays there for about three minutes and then goes to your normal settings. If yours does not have something like that, I would recommend changing your mode to CPAP with flex off and the pressure set for 21.0. You can use that CPAP mode to do mask fitting then turn the mode back to fixed bilevel for your sleep. The different modes should maintain their own parameters so the next time that you want to do mask fitting all you have to do is switch to CPAP mode.