Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

ResMed VPAP Adapt confusing results
ResMed VPAP Adapt confusing results
I had been using a ResMed S9 VPAP S for almost two years. For most nights, the SleepyHead software reported numerous OA (Obstructive Apnea) and CA (Clear Airway or Central Apnea) events (about equal number of each). There were occasional H (Hypopnea) events, but almost never any A (Apnea) events.

I have been using a ResMed S9 VPAP Adapt for about 10 days. The SleepyHead software now reports numerous A events and some H events, but never any OA or CA events. As I understand it, ResMed reports an A event when it cannot distinguish between a CA and OA event.

One of the selling features of the VPAP Adapt is that it can distinguish between OA and CA events and respond accordingly. But, in this case, it is unable to do the former, so how is it ever going to be able to do the latter?

On the one hand, my old machine seemed to have no problem distinguishing between OA and CA, but was unable to deal with the different events. On the other hand, the new machine is supposed to be able to deal with the different events but is unable to recognize them.

Am I missing something here?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: ResMed VPAP Adapt confusing results
I agree that is puzzling. All things between machines- settings- being equal the only thing I can think of is to let the machine get to know you better.
I have a Respironics ASV and have been able to dial in pressures to reduce my ahi by checking the epap numbers and pressure support numbers. Since you have been on ASV for several years you already know about titrating. How numerous is numerous- can you list your total AHI regardless of the breakdown between kinds of events, please?