Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Looking for Definitions to the Clinician Setting modes
Looking for Definitions to the Clinician Setting modes
I am new to CPAP machines and their use (on a quick learn curve). I have the REMstar Auto (M series) A-Flex and I just got into the Clinician mode. Is there somewhere where I can find the meaning and purpose to the modes such as:

C-flex setting
Ramp Start Pressure
Slit night time

. . . . I know that a sleep study is highly HIGHLY recommended, but I have to ask. I have recorded (audio) and got detailed reports from my partner (through out entire night survey) and my own monitored tiredness levels (in diary, that I HAVE SLEEP APNEA. Rather than pay a doctor and sleep study $1500 plus to tell me what I already know, what stops me from researching the heck out of this and letting my REMstar Auto give me what I need. Using the clinician manual to check any other settings I need to tune it in.

Am I missing something too big to ignore by avoiding the sleep study?Dont-know

Would love your insights,

Sleep jones-in & uninsured,

Dan

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Looking for Definitions to the Clinician Setting modes
DeepDreamer,

Where are you located? And where did you get the REMstar M-Series machine? Is it used?

The reason I ask is this: The M-Series was discontinued some time around 2009 or 2010. They use a proprietary data card of some type and without the appropriate card reader, it will be impossible for you to get the full data off the machine that you need in order to "self-treat" your OSA with enough confidence that any changes you make to the clinical settings are helping the situation rather than aggravating it.