Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Electric Muscle Stimulation?
Electric Muscle Stimulation?
Hi, I'm a newbie on the board, and feel like I'm suffering from apnea, since my sleep is frequently interrupted by my airway passages closing (I'm quite obese).

I've started reading up on the whole apnea phenomenon, and since it seems to be caused by airways collapsing during sleep relaxation (doesn't seem to happen to me while I'm awake), then I wanted to know if any kind of electrical muscle stimulation would be capable of keeping the airway muscles from going slack and collapsing.

You know, just like with those gimmicky electrical-muscle-stimulation weight-loss devices, could it be possible to keep the relevant muscles stimulated and firmed up during sleep, to keep airways from collapsing?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Electric Muscle Stimulation?
Hi there and welcome to the board.

I have learned they that they call it "sleep apnea" because it only effects us while we're asleep.

I've also learned most of the gimmicks are unproven and don't work.

CPAP works.
If everyone thinks alike, then someone isn't thinking.
Everyone knows something, together we could know everything.
Post Reply Post Reply
Welcome to the board. I learned of my OSA at a weight of 409 - not too fat, just too short~! Anyhow, and bouncing around 318 or so now, and my apnea isn't any better - just thought I would share that. While many 'fat' people have OSA, there are more non-obese people that have it. So while being overweight can increase the risk, it is not known as a cause.

Losing weight once your apnea is under control becomes easier as you are not so tired all the time, so there is some hope.