Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

AHI vs Leak Rate
AHI vs Leak Rate
I've been using my CPAP for about two months, and I've noticed a correlation between late-session leak rates and my sleepiness and energy level the next day. Even though my AHI is always 3.0 or below, if I have a large leak near the end of the session, I feel lousy, but if I have a flatline leak profile for the whole session and no sleep interruption, I feel great. Recently, I've only noticed one such session, but the following day was excellent. The mask fits pretty tightly, but apparently it does leak when I move around. Two questions come to mind:

1) Does the correlation make sense or is there likely something else going on?
2) Would a new type of mask help?

Thanks in advance.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: AHI vs Leak Rate
(01-17-2015, 09:30 PM)Jim Bronson Wrote: I've been using my CPAP for about two months, and I've noticed a correlation between late-session leak rates and my sleepiness and energy level the next day. Even though my AHI is always 3.0 or below, if I have a large leak near the end of the session, I feel lousy, but if I have a flatline leak profile for the whole session and no sleep interruption, I feel great. Recently, I've only noticed one such session, but the following day was excellent. The mask fits pretty tightly, but apparently it does leak when I move around. Two questions come to mind:

Thanks in advance.