Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Diagnosis] Newbie Sleep and Titration Results and the Success Part of the Story
Question 
Newbie Sleep and Titration Results and the Success Part of the Story
Hi,

I'm a newbie, and would love your input. I have results, questions, and then at the end, the "so far" happy ending.

THE RESULTS: Just had my sleep study and then titration study a few days later. It looks like all apneas except Central were eliminated using the CPAP. The central ones are a concern see questions. And my chart topping snoring which the tech thought was a microphone malfunction and went to check on, only to be almost blown away standing in the room next to mine, has been eliminated with CPAP as well.

My AHI dropped from 72.9 during the sleep study to 12.5 during the titration study. That looks promising. I've used the CPAP 3 nights at home, but only registered today, so I won't have updated at home numbers until tomorrow. I already feel much better though, which is great!

My 3 questions are:

1. I'm thinking that my AHI is going to continue to drop from the 12.5 during the titration study as I'm at home and getting more than the few hours sleep they allowed me during the titration study, and getting more benefits of using the CPAP built up. Is my thinking correct?

2. What about the deal that the only Apneas I had during the titration study were Central? Isn't Central the "worse" kind of apnea to have, and can I hope to have that number drop as well?

3. This question is a whole 'nuther can of worms. Am I totally unrealistic to think that once things get stabilized, with the blessing/guidance of my ENT, I can develop and successfully implement a plan with my shrink to get off these dadgum antidepressants? And I mean plan, as in it could take months.