Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

4 months in - Do I have to live with aerophagia?
4 months in - Do I have to live with aerophagia?
First , I appreciate that many of you spend your time here helping others.   None of this sleep apnea journey is easy, but your support makes it less overwhelming.  I have learned so much here.

I’ve been using my ASV for 4 months after a split night sleep study with AHI 41 and diagnosis of CSA and OSA.  I have a mask that works for me (ResMed F30, plus a back up F20 that would be perfect if I wasn’t between sizes), I usually get 6 hours of unbroken sleep, and my AHI now averages less than 1.  BUT I can’t get away from the aerophagia.   

I don’t know if you can help without OSCAR data (I don’t use it yet because sometimes I obsess over data and it becomes counterproductive), but even general advice or a fresh perspective would be helpful.   At the moment, I have a sleep doctor who has changed my settings several times to address the aerophagia, even though he doesn’t seem too concerned about it because my results are good.  I started at EPAP 7, PS 3-15. That’s when the aerophagia pain woke me up at night and sometimes gave me nausea in the morning.  We cycled through some variations and ASV Auto before landing on ASV mode EPAP 7, PS 0-6.  I’m not in pain, but the bloating and flatulence aren’t great.    

I sleep wearing a soft c collar on a 7.5” foam wedge.  I’ve tried to teach myself to sleep on my left side but I think I tend to curl up which makes the aerophagia worse.  Back sleeping is better, and my preference, but AHI is sometimes higher (1-2, which I’m ok with).   AND YET, I can’t get the aerophagia to stop.  I’ll have a good night occasionally with almost no air swallowing but can’t consistently repeat it.