Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

6 months in, not feeling major benefits. Any advice? :(
6 months in, not feeling major benefits. Any advice? :(
Hello!

First-time poster with admiration for the knowledge and experience of this forum's users.

I've been using the Airsense 11 for 6 months with a little trial and error, no help from my DME who was next-to-useless.

I use a Philips Dreamwear Nasal mask, which appears to have a high leak rate even though the fit seems fine to me and it's in good condition. I sleep with a mouthgard, but no taping (happy to consider this if it looks like I need it).

My AHI is rarely under 5 unfortunately. This chart from last night is typical for me. Any and all feedback happily received - thank you!  Thanks

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: 6 months in, not feeling major benefits. Any advice? :(
Did you have an overnight sleep study?  Did it show Central Sleep Apnea?  If you have a copy of that study, post it here.

The most noticeable thing is your high leak rate.  If you're sure that the mask fits properly, then you may be mouth breathing even while using the mouth guard.  This will need corrected, because if you are constantly over the high leak threshold, the machines algorithm may not be able to detect apneas correctly.

Many folk here use tape, so that is an option.

http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...ask_Primer
OpalRose
Apnea Board Administrator
www.apneaboard.com

Soft Cervical Collar
Optimizing therapy
OSCAR supported machines
Mask Primer