Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

APAP Weirdness After Weight Loss
APAP Weirdness After Weight Loss
Hello everyone, it's my first time here.

I have successfully used CPAP since January 2021 and my perfect setup with my Resmed Autoset was:

8cm minimum, 15cm maximum as it never went above 9.2 - 9.4cm. EPR 3. Response standard.

My AHI was 0.1 - 0.3 consistently since I started.

However then I lost weight and kept being woke up many times each night for unknown reasons and often sweating. This went on for months until I realised my weight loss (185lbs to 165lbs) may mean I require a lower pressure.

So low and behold, a minimum pressure of 6cm seemed to work and it never went above 7cm with AHI of 0.1 consistently, however I was still being disturbed many times each night and waking up for unknown reasons. Again often sweating.

All I could see is Oscar was 1 or 2 events each night where my pressure needed 6.7 - 7cm briefly before falling back to 6cm for the rest of the night.

I wondered if I even needed CPAP anymore so tried without, what a mistake that was after a week of no CPAP!

I thought what the hell, maybe 6cm - 7cm isn't actually enough despite what the Resmed thinks (I'd find myself waking semi consciously sometimes feeling like I couldn't breath before the pressure kicked in and I fall back to sleep) so I put my minimum back to 8cm and it still likes to climb to 9.2 - 9.4cm despite a pressure of 6cm - 7cm seemingly treating me well now accordingly to the Resmed after weight loss!