Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Advice on Inspire device
Advice on Inspire device
Hi - I’m considering the idea of having the Inspire device implanted in order to deal with my sleep apnea.  I have been using my CPAP now for 5 years and don’t hate it - so I am not all that driven to get the Inspire device.  However, my results with my CPAP average around 4 to 5  AHI (better than the 31 AHI I originally had!) -so am wondering if an Inspire device might give me better results.  I still feel some fatigue in the afternoons - would like to get over that.  (Although - I am almost age 69 - perhaps afternoon fatigue is part of life..).  Overall I am fit and still working - so looking at the Inspire as a solution that might make my sleep even better.   Thanks  for any advice.  Also, I would appreciate being directed to any discussion groups of Inspire users.   Thank you!
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Advice on Inspire device
I don't recall exact success rates, but most surgery based Apnea treatments are quite a bit less successful than CPAP. I would suspect your DreamStation is holding your therapy back from truly getting the success needed. If you've had this PAP for 5 years, consider getting a replacement ResMed PAP and see your AHI drop with a small setting tweak or two, while looking at OSCAR data to guide.
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEBSITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
Your post back in 2018 said your AHI were around 2. 
Now they are around 4-5.