Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Am I getting the right cpap backup battery? Beginner here
Am I getting the right cpap backup battery? Beginner here
I am brand new to cpap I don't have it yet i have to wait a couple months for my appointment to be prescribed a cpap but before it comes I want to get a battery. I'm getting the airsense 10. I have two questions. 

1 am I getting the right backup battery? I am planning on getting a jackery explorer 500 which has a DC plug in spot so I can get a DC converter. Am I doing this right?

2 I have two backup Batteries for my computers but they do not have DC plug ins would I be able to use them as AC? Is it that ac isn't as efficient or is it that I cannot use AC? 

Also I read something about these generators being 12 volts and the cpap being 24 volts am I doing this right?
Sorry for the beginner question lol.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Am I getting the right cpap backup battery? Beginner here
What purpose should that battery serve, i.e., supply power in which cases?
Post Reply Post Reply
It's not for travel I don't really travel much at all. A home backup for if it power goes out or if there's a hurricane or anything
Post Reply Post Reply
I just bought exactly this one for going camping on grounds that are accessible by car / short walk, and it saved my night two days ago when there was an unplanned electricity outage.

As you posited, you do need to get the proper DC-DC converter (12V → 24V) if you want to use the DC output - and you do want it, because AC → DC convertion is very energivore.

I bought the Resmed 37297 Air10 DC-DC Converter. Which is pretty much a regular DC DC converter but I went with it instead of a cheaper generic for peace of mind.