Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Build errors while trying to debug OSCAR in Qt on Windows 10 [resolved, see Post #19]
#11
RE: Build errors while trying to debug OSCAR in Qt on Windows 10.
Scarmen, could you post a copy of your compilation output like GuyScharf did? (Preferably one version showing the failure and one with your change to double quotes.) It sounds like you're probably on the right track, but I'd need to see the underlying details: we need to understand why it works on one system but not another.
Post Reply Post Reply
#12
RE: Build errors while trying to debug OSCAR in Qt on Windows 10.
(04-22-2020, 02:33 PM)sawinglogz Wrote: Scarmen, could you post a copy of your compilation output like GuyScharf did? (Preferably one version showing the failure and one with your change to double quotes.) It sounds like you're probably on the right track, but I'd need to see the underlying details: we need to understand why it works on one system but not another.

Ok, well, my compilation output is very brief, so it can be included inline easily:

09:42:16: Running steps for project oscar...
09:42:16: Starting: "C:\Program-files\Qt\5.12.8\mingw73_64\bin\qmake.exe" C:\Users\geoff\OneDrive\Documents\Git\OSCAR-code\oscar\oscar.pro -spec win32-g++ "CONFIG+=debug" "CONFIG+=qml_debug"
fatal: no tag exactly matches 'af9e42030897e14e8123e63cdf985aed24f220ab'
Update_gtinfo.bat: GIT_BRANCH=winbuild, GIT_REVISION=af9e4203, GIT_TAG=
Updating C:\Users\geoff\OneDrive\Documents\Git\OSCAR-code\oscar\git_info.h
1 file(s) moved.
The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.
Project MESSAGE: Platform is C:/Program-files/Qt/5.12.8/mingw73_64/mkspecs/win32-g++
Project MESSAGE: Building with regular OpenGL gGraphView
Project MESSAGE: Updating gitinfo.h for Windows build
Project ERROR: Failed to run: 'C:\Program-files\Qt\5.12.8\mingw73_64\bin\lrelease.exe' -removeidentical C:/Users/geoff/OneDrive/Documents/Git/OSCAR-code/oscar/../Translations/Afrikaans.af.ts -qm C:/Users/geoff/OneDrive/Documents/Git/OSCAR-code/oscar/translations/Afrikaans.af.qm
09:42:17: The process "C:\Program-files\Qt\5.12.8\mingw73_64\bin\qmake.exe" exited with code 3.
Error while building/deploying project oscar (kit: Desktop Qt 5.12.8 MinGW 64-bit)
When executing step "qmake"
09:42:17: Elapsed time: 00:01.

I noted the part where it said it failed to run: 

'C:\Program-files\Qt\5.12.8\mingw73_64\bin\lrelease.exe' -removeidentical C:/Users/geoff/OneDrive/Documents/Git/OSCAR-code/oscar/../Translations/Afrikaans.af.ts -qm C:/Users/geoff/OneDrive/Documents/Git/OSCAR-code/oscar/translations/Afrikaans.af.qm

When I took that entire line and ran it in the command prompt, I got exactly the error message listed in the compilation output: 

The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

On the other hand, when I simply replaced the single quotes in the line with double quotes, i.e.:

"C:\Program-files\Qt\5.12.8\mingw73_64\bin\lrelease.exe" -removeidentical C:/Users/geoff/OneDrive/Documents/Git/OSCAR-code/oscar/../Translations/Afrikaans.af.ts -qm C:/Users/geoff/OneDrive/Documents/Git/OSCAR-code/oscar/translations/Afrikaans.af.qm

I got: 

Updating 'C:/Users/geoff/OneDrive/Documents/Git/OSCAR-code/oscar/translations/Afrikaans.af.qm'...

Removing translations equal to source text in 'C:/Users/geoff/OneDrive/Documents/Git/OSCAR-code/oscar/translations/Afrikaans.af.qm'...
    Generated 1421 translation(s) (1420 finished and 1 unfinished)
    Ignored 49 untranslated source text(s)

Which is the same sort of thing that Guy got in his output that ran successfully, leading me to believe that the command was being formatted incorrectly. That sounds to me like something in Qt is misconfigured on my setup, but I don't know where to look for a setting like that.
Post Reply Post Reply
#13
RE: Build errors while trying to debug OSCAR in Qt on Windows 10.
Thanks, that's very helpful. What version of Windows are you running? (Including build, if Windows 10. "winver" will tell you.)
Post Reply Post Reply
#14
RE: Build errors while trying to debug OSCAR in Qt on Windows 10.
Just an observation....
C:\Program-files\......

Is that a typo? Or was it supposed to be C:\Program Files\......
Jeff8356

MacBook Air (2017, Intel) | macOS Monterey (12.7) | OSCAR v1.5.1 | VM = Win10/Win11 |
How to Links:
Installing OSCAR on a Mac
Organizing your OSCAR charts
Attaching screenshots and files for the forum
OSCAR Help
OSCAR - The Guide

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#15
RE: Build errors while trying to debug OSCAR in Qt on Windows 10.
(04-23-2020, 02:32 PM)sawinglogz Wrote: Thanks, that's very helpful. What version of Windows are you running? (Including build, if Windows 10. "winver" will tell you.)

Version 1909 (OS Build 18363.778).
Post Reply Post Reply
#16
RE: Build errors while trying to debug OSCAR in Qt on Windows 10.
(04-23-2020, 03:50 PM)Jeff8356 Wrote: Just an observation....
C:\Program-files\......

Is that a typo? Or was it supposed to be C:\Program Files\......

Qt would not allow me to install to C:\Program Files, because it would not allow any blank spaces in the file path. When I tried to install it using quotes (double or single), it said that the installation path cannot be relative, even though it was not in fact relative. In this day and age, I refuse to install directly to C:\, which was the default location for the Qt folder, so instead I simply stuck a hyphen in between "Program" and "files" so that it would let me install it.
Post Reply Post Reply
#17
RE: Build errors while trying to debug OSCAR in Qt on Windows 10.
You could use the DOS replacement, "Progra~1" for Program Files and "Progra~2" for Program Files (x86).
Crimson Nape
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com
___________________________________
Useful Links -or- When All Else Fails:
The Guide to Understanding OSCAR
OSCAR Chart Organization
Attaching Images and Files on Apnea Board
Apnea Helpful Tips

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#18
RE: Build errors while trying to debug OSCAR in Qt on Windows 10.
(04-23-2020, 06:25 PM)Crimson Nape Wrote: You could use the DOS replacement, "Progra~1" for Program Files and "Progra~2" for Program Files (x86).

I saw a note from someone who tried that and said the tilde was treated as an illegal character.

Do you have c:\program files\git\usr\bin in your PATH?  You might try removing it. That directory contains programs that conflict with some standard Windows programs.
Useful links
Download OSCAR (current version is 1.5.1)
Best way to organize charts
How to attach charts to your post

Apnea Board Monitors are members who help oversee the smooth functioning of the Board. They are also members of the Advisory Committee which helps shape Apnea Board's rules & policies. Membership in the Advisory Members group does not imply medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.
Post Reply Post Reply
#19
RE: Build errors while trying to debug OSCAR in Qt on Windows 10.
Mystery solved: there's a mistake in the Window build instructions when installing Git. Specifically, do NOT select "Use Git and optional Unix tools from the Command Prompt". Instead, use the default "Git from the command line and also from 3rd-party software".

I was able to reproduce the issue with Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1903 and 1909 using the build instructions in the git repo, and resolved it on both versions by installing Git as described above.

You can fix an existing installation by re-running the Git for Windows installer and changing the above option, then completing the installation. You will need to exit and re-launch Qt Creator for the change to take effect.


As an aside, I often create a "build" directory at the root level, so I would generally install Qt in C:\build\Qt\... and OSCAR-code under C:\build\OSCAR-code, etc. It keeps your username out of the binary and doesn't contain any spaces. Or I create an unprivileged "build" user, in which case things would go in C:\Users\build\Qt\... etc. For troubleshooting this issue, I just used all the default locations in a VM.
Post Reply Post Reply
#20
RE: Build errors while trying to debug OSCAR in Qt on Windows 10.
Great! Thanks for finding that.
Useful links
Download OSCAR (current version is 1.5.1)
Best way to organize charts
How to attach charts to your post

Apnea Board Monitors are members who help oversee the smooth functioning of the Board. They are also members of the Advisory Committee which helps shape Apnea Board's rules & policies. Membership in the Advisory Members group does not imply medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  OSCAR Windows Portable No-Install CraigKevin 17 2,411 03-14-2024, 02:25 AM
Last Post: Ossy01
  multiple windows ? zaienk 4 314 01-17-2024, 07:15 AM
Last Post: zaienk
  OSCAR 1.5.1 Windows 10 sleeper2460 2 750 11-01-2023, 12:29 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
  Is it possible to build OSCAR in Qt-Creator? JEMH 4 483 10-20-2023, 11:29 AM
Last Post: JEMH
  Cannot select profile in OSCAR [solved, see post #9] GB San Jose 9 1,494 10-09-2023, 08:24 AM
Last Post: GB San Jose
  SD Card errors/OSCAR....all new to me TomWii 11 1,493 09-23-2023, 04:02 PM
Last Post: Crimson Nape
  wifi EzShare SD Card for Windows 11 Home Greg1582378 3 835 09-23-2023, 03:47 PM
Last Post: Crimson Nape


New Posts   Today's Posts


About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.