Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Can CPAP Machine Detect REM Sleep?
Can CPAP Machine Detect REM Sleep?
I'm new to CPAP.  I've had my ResMed AirSense 10 machine for about two weeks now and am not feeling any better yet.  I'm significantly more tired and foggy headed since using the CPAP than when I used to only use my mouth guard appliance, even though the machine says I'm doing fantastic.  My daily average AHIs are usually around 1 and seldom above 2.  I should be doing great, right?  Not.

The talked with the doctor today, who reviewed my original sleep study results and my daily CPAP results.  She told me that during the first part of my sleep study, without a CPAP (and without my mouth guard), I had absolutely no REM sleep and severe OSAs (I think it was 48 or something).  She further said that for people who have been used to not getting any REM sleep, it can take quite a while for the body to readjust to getting REM sleep when using the CPAP.  She thinks this is the most likely cause of my feeling even more dragged out all day than usual; especially since my machine reports that I'm doing great.  

BTW, I just downloaded and started using the SleepyHead app to view the data from the SD card myself.  The machine automatically reports my data to the doctor and my DME via cell connection each day.

I have three questions:

1. Does what the doctor said about taking a significant amount of time to get used to having REM sleep make sense?

2. Can periods of REM sleep be determined from the data reported by the CPAP machine?  If so, how would I see that?  I'm asking this because, after what the doctor said, I'd like to know if I am successfully having REM sleep now and how much.