Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] High Pressure CPAP
High Pressure CPAP
I was diagnosed with sleep apnea about 8-10 years ago and have been using a ResMed CPAP with a humidifier ever since without any issues.  Have worn it every night since and I don't think I wake up once.

About six months ago, I started being woken up almost every night by high mask pressure (nasal pillows).  I had to reduce the setting from 15 to 12 in an effort to sleep through it, but even the constant pressure at 12 was too much to keep the mask on.

I am a retired engineer and tried to get the machine repaired.  At that time, I had not discovered this site or OSCAR so I had no information.  My doctor said the machine was old and I needed a new one.  He wrote a prescription, but even though my insurance company said that I didn't have to have a new sleep study, the medical supply companies wouldn't provide a new one without it.  My insurance would not cover the cost anyway due to the high deductibles and a sleep study would increase my expense.  I simply cannot afford all of that unless it is absolutely necessary.

Nobody would even look at my data to determine what the problem could be.  They're very quick order things but don't want to do any analysis.  I am hoping someone here will be willing to look at it and provide an opinion.  All input will be greatly appreciated.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: High Pressure CPAP
Welcome! I'm sure an expert will drop by soon to help you. In the meantime, could you do a little reformatting on your charts? Close the pie chart (File, Preferences, Appearance), and include just these graphs in a single screenshot:

Events
Flow rate
Pressure
Leaks
Snores
Flow limitations.